The International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI) has released its list of 2020 Global Recording Artist of the Year Awards and BTS has come in at No. 1! BTS’ win marks their first ever IFPI award, after finishing #2 in 2018’s IFPI Global Artist Chart and #7 in 2019. They become the first Korean act to win the accolade, as well as the first winner to perform primarily in a language other than English. All previous recipients have been from either North America (Taylor Swift, Drake) or the United Kingdom (One Direction, Adele, Ed Sheeran). 

The International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI) is a non-profit organization that represents the recorded music industry worldwide. Its annual Global Recording Artist of the Year Award recognizes an act’s worldwide popularity across digital and physical music formats (from streaming to vinyl), and it covers their entire collection of work.

Frances Moore, Chief Executive, IFPI, said: “BTS are a global phenomenon. They have had another outstanding year, releasing three albums, and continually finding creative and engaging ways to share their story with the world. They truly show the power that music has to bring joy and happiness to people the world over.

“We would like to congratulate RM, Jin, SUGA, j-hope, Jimin, V and Jung Kook and we are excited to see what they have in store next.”

BTS’s hugely successful 2020 included the release of their Billboard 200-topping album “Map of the Soul: 7,” which IFPI notes is one of the most pre-ordered albums of all time. The group then made history with their smash hit single “Dynamite,” becoming the first all-Korean act to reach No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. The song has also been nominated for a Grammy in the Best Pop Duo/Group Performance category. BTS continued their success with the release of their album “BE” in November, which became their fifth album to top the Billboard 200.

IFPI’s Top 10 Global Recording Artists of 2020 are:
1. BTS
2. Taylor Swift
3. Drake
4. The Weeknd
5. Billie Eilish
6. Eminem
7. Post Malone
8. Ariana Grande
9. Juice Wrld
10. Justin Bieber