Alternative Pop trio, The Shadowboxers, are having the time of their lives, from playing legendary concert venues with their mentor Justin Timberlake on his Man of the Woods Tour to most recent releasing their debut EP titled Apollo.

Apollo may not be their first project in their 10 year career span as artists, but it marks the reinvention of the dynamic trio and redefines their artistic identities. The EP consists of six amazing tracks, two previously released singles, “Hot Damn!”, “Runaway” and four unreleased tracks, “Timezone”, “Shadowboxer”, “Wolves” and “Brakes”.

(Learn more about The Shadowboxers on our exclusive interview, The Dynamic Harmony of The Shadowboxers)

The Timberlake produced EP starts off with the retro R&B infused synth pop ballad, “Timezone” which was also the name of their last headlining tour. “Timezone” deals with the many trials and tribulations of a long distance relationship and the everlasting urge to keep it alive on a smooth 80’s synth pop soundscape.

While “Timezone” is a well constructed homage to the past, “Shadowboxer” is a cheeky, risk-taking dance anthem made for the future. Not only is the charismatic rapping/singing of group member, Adam Hoffman attention stealing but the seductive song production unleashes the playful sides of all the three members to explore provocative music territory that naturally lend to their sizzling break out single, “Hot Damn!”.

The latter part of Apollo illustrates the laid back nature of vintage R&B dripping track, (“Wolves”) to the head bopping electro pop (“Brakes”). The trio shines infinitely when they unite their vocals and bare their vulnerabilities about the many sides of a relationship as most evident on their last track, “Runaway”. Overall, Apollo is a grand surprise oozing with artistic growth for the Nashville based trio who have never sounded more sure and fearless as they do now.

Catch The Shadowboxers opening for Justin Timberlake’s Man of the Woods tour. For tickets, click here!

Share on Pinterest